Some archaeological objects

Marne-type ceramic dish, iron age
Marne-type ceramic dish, iron age. Coll. Liemers Museum, Zevenaar (NL)
Bronze age vessel, Liemers Museum, Zevenaar (NL)
Bronze age vessel, Liemers Museum, Zevenaar (NL)

These are two out of twenty archaeological objects that will be part of an interactive presentation in the Liemers Museum, Zevenaar (NL). It was a  nice experience to be able to have a closer look at these objects, and feel the craftsmanship that created them a few thousand years ago. As a paleographer, and codicologist by training, I am used to handling old, venerable and precious objects, like medieval manuscripts. But these unpretentious objects rushed me still further back in the mist of time, or ‘La Nuit des Temps’. I regret the many times that I carelessly passed display cases with archaeological objects in museums in favor of more spectacular, and resplendent material. But I feel that I have made my amends, now that I have spend a good day making pictures of this small collection.

Leave a Reply

